Skip to content

Abbotsford Chamber Welcomes New Leadership at 2024 AGM

(Abbotsford) – March 27, 2024 – Kevin Mierau, owner of Mierau Contractors Ltd, has been announced as the incoming President of the Abbotsford Chamber of Commerce, elected alongside four new Directors at its Annual General Meeting on March 27th.

Outgoing President Craig Toews, served a two year term in the role, leading the organization through COVID and the hiring of a new CEO in 2023. Toews will remain as a non-voting Director for a one year term, serving in the role of Past President.

The Chamber thanked retiring board directors  Chris Gauthier of Memento Mori Studios and Mike Ashcroft of Cascade Aerospace for their years of service.

The 2024/2025 Board Members are:

  • Kevin Mierau, Mierau Contractors Ltd., President
  • Paul Penner, Re/Max TruPeak Realty, Vice President
  • Katie Yu, RBC, Treasurer
  • Sam Varing, First West Credit Union, Secretary
  • Josh Reynolds, Illustrative Collective, Director
  • Ravi Sidhu, FSH Design, Director
  • Brittany Tucker, KPMG, Director
  • Loren Taves, Taves Family Farms, Director
  • Dr. Khyati Shetty, UFV School of Business, Director (newly elected)
  • Lee Kitson, Marshall Aerospace, Director (newly elected)
  • Steve Czeck, Empyrion Technologies Inc., Director (newly elected)
  •  Kamna Suri, Sandman Hotel Group, Director (newly elected)
  •  Craig Toews, Past President

In his President’s address, Kevin Mierau reflected on how the Chamber has tangibly supported the community, referencing the millions of dollars dispersed from businesses and individual donors through the Abbotsford Disaster Relief Fund.

His message was one of optimism about the future of the Chamber, "Our organization has been serving Abbotsford for over 110 years and we look forward to shaping the decades ahead with a focus on our members and ensuring that their voices are heard.  We have strong leadership with our CEO, Alex Mitchell, and our team of staff whose passion and care for our small business community is contagious."

Mierau also highlighted the momentum of the Company of Young Professionals and Entrepreneurs (CYPE) Program which is a network of over 100 young leaders who are shaping the region.  He also spoke about the exciting advocacy work that is underway through the Fraser Valley Business Coalition where the Chambers of Abbotsford, Langley, Mission, and Chilliwack are working together to advance regional priorities around infrastructure, workforce, and food security with the inaugural Fraser Valley Economic Summit on May 21st.

The keynote speaker at this year's AGM was retiring MLA Mike de Jong who has served as a senior provincial official for over 30 year.  Mike commented, "I don't think the Chamber takes enough credit for role it plays in our community.  When we decided we wanted a full University, it was the Chamber that mobilized support with other levels of government to make it happen, when we decided we needed to improve highway infrastructure and needed a new hospital the Chamber was a part of forcing those issues onto the agendas of all parties."


About the Abbotsford Chamber of Commerce:

The Abbotsford Chamber of Commerce has served the business community of Abbotsford with an attitude of vibrant engagement and proactive non-partisan advocacy for over 110 years.

With 700 members, it is the largest Chamber in the Fraser Valley, located in the 5th largest city in the province. The Abbotsford Chamber is nationally accredited to meet standards of business excellence and provide benefits to its member organizations.


For more information, please contact:

Nathalie Darwin

Communications Manager
Tel: 604-859-9651



Scroll To Top